full screen background image

ICC Champions Trophy, June 2013 Fixtures, Match Results, Points Table

ICC Champions Trophy 2013 is being launched in London on Wednesday Last week

ICC Champions Trophy 2013 is being launched in London on Wednesday Last week

The tournament does not appear in the Future Tournament Programme after 2013, with the ICC moving towards having one championship for each of the game’s three formats from 2015.

 

Date and Time Match Weather Result
Thu May 30
12:00 GMT | 13:00 local
17:00 PKT
Pakistan v Sri Lanka
Edgbaston, Birmingham
Showers 9 – 17° C Match abandoned without a ball bowled
Sat Jun 1
09:30 GMT | 10:30 local
14:30 PKT
India v Sri Lanka
Edgbaston, Birmingham
Mostly Sunny 6 – 18° C India won by 5 wickets (with 6 balls remaining)
Sat Jun 1
12:00 GMT | 13:00 local
17:00 PKT
Australia v West Indies
Sophia Gardens, Cardiff
Mostly Sunny 8 – 18° C Australia won by 4 wickets (with 67 balls remaining)
Mon Jun 3
09:30 GMT | 10:30 local
14:30 PKT
Pakistan v South Africa
Kennington Oval, London
Partly Cloudy 9 – 18° C
Pakistan won by 6 wickets (with 27 balls remaining)
Tue Jun 4
09:30 GMT | 10:30 local
14:30 PKT
Australia v India
Sophia Gardens, Cardiff
Partly Cloudy 8 – 19° C India won by 243 runs
Tue Jun 4
09:30 GMT | 10:30 local
14:30 PKT
Sri Lanka v West Indies
Edgbaston, Birmingham
Partly Cloudy 10 – 18° C
West Indies won by 17 runs

 

ICC Champions Trophy, 6 – 23th June 2013 Schedule

Date and Time

Match

Result

Thu Jun 6
09:30 GMT | 10:30 local
05:30 EDT | 04:30 CDT | 02:30 PDT
1st Match, Group B – India v South Africa
Sophia Gardens, Cardiff
India won by 26 runs
Fri Jun 7
09:30 GMT | 10:30 local
05:30 EDT | 04:30 CDT | 02:30 PDT
2nd Match, Group B – Pakistan v West Indies
Kennington Oval, London
West Indies won by 2 wickets (with 56 balls remaining)
Sat Jun 8
09:30 GMT | 10:30 local
05:30 EDT | 04:30 CDT | 02:30 PDT
3rd Match, Group A – England v Australia
Edgbaston, Birmingham
England won by 48 runs
Sun Jun 9
09:30 GMT | 10:30 local
05:30 EDT | 04:30 CDT | 02:30 PDT
4th Match, Group A – New Zealand v Sri Lanka
Sophia Gardens, Cardiff
New Zealand won by 1 wicket (with 81 balls remaining)
Mon Jun 10
12:00 GMT | 13:00 local
08:00 EDT | 07:00 CDT | 05:00 PDT
5th Match, Group B – Pakistan v South Africa
Edgbaston, Birmingham
 South Africa won by 67 runs
Tue Jun 11
09:30 GMT | 10:30 local
05:30 EDT | 04:30 CDT | 02:30 PDT
6th Match, Group B – India v West Indies
Kennington Oval, London
 India won by 8 wickets (with 65 balls remaining)
Wed Jun 12
09:30 GMT | 10:30 local
05:30 EDT | 04:30 CDT | 02:30 PDT
7th Match, Group A – Australia v New Zealand
Edgbaston, Birmingham
  Abandoned due to rain
Thu Jun 13
12:00 GMT | 13:00 local
08:00 EDT | 07:00 CDT | 05:00 PDT
8th Match, Group A – England v Sri Lanka
Kennington Oval, London
 Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets (with 17 balls remaining)
Fri Jun 14
09:30 GMT | 10:30 local
05:30 EDT | 04:30 CDT | 02:30 PDT
9th Match, Group B – South Africa v West Indies
Sophia Gardens, Cardiff
 Match tied (D/L method)
Sat Jun 15
09:30 GMT | 10:30 local
05:30 EDT | 04:30 CDT | 02:30 PDT
10th Match, Group B – India v Pakistan
Edgbaston, Birmingham
 India won by 8 wickets (with 17 balls remaining) (D/L method)
Sun Jun 16
09:30 GMT | 10:30 local
05:30 EDT | 04:30 CDT | 02:30 PDT
11th Match, Group A – England v New Zealand
Sophia Gardens, Cardiff
 England won by 10 runs
Mon Jun 17
12:00 GMT | 13:00 local
08:00 EDT | 07:00 CDT | 05:00 PDT
12th Match, Group A – Australia v Sri Lanka
Kennington Oval, London
 Sri Lanka won by 20 runs
Wed Jun 19
09:30 GMT | 10:30 local
05:30 EDT | 04:30 CDT | 02:30 PDT
1st Semi-Final – South Africa v England
Kennington Oval, London
 England won by 7 wickets (with 75 balls remaining)
Thu Jun 20
09:30 GMT | 10:30 local
05:30 EDT | 04:30 CDT | 02:30 PDT
2nd Semi-Final – India v Sri Lanka
Sophia Gardens, Cardiff
 India won by 8 wickets (with 90 balls remaining)
Sun Jun 23
09:30 GMT | 10:30 local
05:30 EDT | 04:30 CDT | 02:30 PDT
Final – England v India
Edgbaston, Birmingham
India won by 5 runs

 

ICC Champions Trophy 2013 Points Table

Group A

Teams Mat Won Lost Tied N/R Pts Net RR For Against
England 3 2 1 0 0 4 +0.308 731/124.0 677/121.1
Sri Lanka 3 2 1 0 0 4 -0.197 688/147.1 665/136.3
New Zealand 3 1 1 0 1 3 +0.777 298/60.3 307/74.0
Australia 3 0 2 0 1 1 -0.680 454/100.0 522/100.0

Group B

Teams Mat Won Lost Tied N/R Pts Net RR For Against
India 3 3 0 0 0 6 +0.938 669/108.2 639/122.0
South Africa 3 1 1 1 0 3 +0.325 729/126.1 688/126.1
West Indies 3 1 1 1 0 3 -0.075 595/116.5 596/115.2
Pakistan 3 0 3 0 0 0 -1.035 438/122.0 508/109.5

 

ICC Champions Trophy 2013, all teams player names/squads

Australia won the previous edition of the Champions Trophy 2009, in South Africa

Australia won the previous edition of the Champions Trophy 2009, in South Africa

India will take on South Africa in the opening game of the 2013 Champions Trophy in England, the last time the tournament will be held. Two other big draws in the group stages are India versus Pakistan on June 15, and Australia playing New Zealand on June 12, both at Edgbaston.

The top eight in the ICC ODI rankings will be competing in the tournament, starting June 6 next year, divided into two groups of four each. Apart from Edgbaston, also the venue for the final, Cardiff and The Oval will stage the group games as well as the semi-finals.

Group A features defending champions Australia, England, New Zealand and Sri Lanka; Group B includes world champions India, Pakistan, South Africa and West Indies. The top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals, to be held on June 19 and 20. The final will be played on June 23.

“This will be an incredible opportunity for fans to see the world’s very best one-day sides in action over the space of less than three weeks and the fixture schedule has thrown up a host of exciting head-to-head contests,” Steve Elworthy, the tournament director, said. “The format means every match counts and all eight teams will feel that they are capable of winning the tournament in a competition which is set to be one of the highlights of the 2013 summer.”